Released August 20, 2009

Provincial/Territorial Housing Ministers’ Meeting

Provincial and Territorial Ministers Responsible for Housing met August 19, in St. John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador, to discuss various issues regarding housing, notably their commitment to provide stable, affordable and good quality housing for their citizens.

Ministers focused on the effect their actions have on improving the lives of Canadians. In addition to providing on-going housing initiatives, provinces and territories will partner with the federal government to contribute more than $2 billion to create new affordable housing units and to renovate existing social housing stock. Jobs will be created, and renovations will improve energy efficiency and enhance accessibility. Provincial and territorial investments represent more than half the total funding.

As primary partners, and in order to complement provincial and territorial programs, Ministers look forward to early and comprehensive involvement in decisions related to the extension of the federal funding for the Affordable Housing Initiative and the Residential Rehabilitation Assistance Program, and Homelessness Partnering Strategy.

While the federal Minister Responsible for Housing, the Honourable Diane Finley, was not able to attend today’s meeting, provincial and territorial Ministers were pleased that the federal Minister has invited them to a meeting in the fall.

For the Honourable Trevor Taylor, Newfoundland and Labrador’s Minister responsible for Housing, today marks the end of his term as the chair of the Provincial/Territorial Ministers’ forum. Alberta’s Minister of Housing and Urban Affairs, the Honourable Yvonne Fritz, now assumes the role of chair for future meetings of the PT Ministers Responsible for Housing.

- 30 -

Media contacts:

David Salter
Director of Communications
Department of Transportation and Works
709-729-3015, 691-3577
Jenny Bowring
Manager, Communications
Newfoundland Labrador Housing