Released September 8, 2000

New members join
NLHC Board of Directors

Joan Marie Aylward, minister responsible for Newfoundland and Labrador Housing Corporation (NLHC), today announced the appointment of two new members to the corporation’s board of directors. Joining the board are: Mr. Barry W. Sheppard - St. John’s and Ms. Carla Hancock - St. John’s.

In welcoming the two appointees, Minister Aylward commented: “Over the past couple of years, the corporation has refocused its efforts and commitment on its primary mandate which is the provision of affordable, quality housing for those in need throughout the province. As active members of the community with strong business backgrounds, I know both Ms. Hancock and Mr. Sheppard will contribute significantly to the future direction of the corporation. I’m looking forward to working with them,” Minister Aylward added.

Carla Hancock
Ms. Hancock is a entrepreneur with 25 years experience as owner/operator of several successful service industry businesses. She is also an active community volunteer who has participated in numerous fund raising events for local and national groups and organizations.  

Barry Sheppard
Mr. Sheppard offers a wide range of management consulting services to private and public sector clients through his own consulting practice. His services include marketing, financial management, human resources, strategic planning, and business networking.

NLHC’s current board consists of :  Robert Noseworthy, Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer of NLHC; Rick Abbott, Musgrave Harbour; Ivan Alexander, St. John’s; Jeffrey Follett, Corner Brook; Basil Hickey, St. John’s; Michael Lee, Petty Harbour (representing the Newfoundland and Labrador Home Builders Association); Jim Parrott, St. John’s; and Kay Woodward, Goose Bay.  These appointments bring the NLHC board membership up to ten (10) which is just one below its full complement. The final vacancy will be filled shortly to bring the board up to the eleven (11) members as provided for under the Newfoundland and Labrador Housing Corporation Act. 

For further information, contact:  
Jenny Bowring, Corporate Communications  
Telephone:  (709) 724-3055